Home Page






Donate       Login       Jobs       News 





After WWII ended, there was a desparate need for skilled technicians and educated leaders in the cast metals industry. FEF was established in 1947 by the leaders of the metal casting industry, with the support of affiliated organizations and societies as an independent extension of metalcasting educational programs at colleges and universities across the country. The primary objective was to bring top-quality men and women into our industry. FEF has since become the lifeline of quality people to our Industry. Read More

McCLELLAND ROBERT BRUCE. Longtime resident of Birmingham and Lake Charlevoix, passed away peacefully May 19, 2013 at the age of 78. - See more at: http://deathnotices.michigan.com/view-single.php?id=319296&Submit=View+Notice+%2F+Guest+Book#sthash.cousMcNe.dpuf

Conference Update

CIC Delegates

2012 CIC Recap


The FEF College Industry Conference was recently held at the Westin Michigan Avenue in Chicago. Over 280 industry executives (including nine FEF Past Presidents), student delegates, key professors and university administrators were in attendance this year.

The conference began on Thursday, November 15, with the Career Information Session which gave 81 student delegates the opportunity to interact with representatives of 43 companies in the metal casting industry. The Information Session and social time before and after the event is structured to facilitate the sharing of job opportunities and to connect students to potential employers in the industry.

During the General Session on Friday, the following speakers their vast experiences in the metal casting industry: Dwight Barnhard (Superior Aluminum Castings), Mo Lynn (Fairmount Minerals), and John Keough (Applied Process).

The FEF/AFS Distinguished Professor Award was given to FEF Key Professor, Scott Giese, University of Northern Iowa, in recognition of his demonstrated personal interest in his students, as well as his knowledge of the industry. As part of the luncheon this year, the Student Delegate scholarships were presented (see next page for complete list) – 20 students were awarded a total of $44,500.00. Additionally, the Keith Millis and Ron Ruddle scholarship recipients were announced, as well as the recipient of the first William Allan Hunter Scholarship.

At the Annual Reception on the evening of November 16, FEF's highest award, the E.J. Walsh Award, was presented to longtime FEF Board Member & Treasurer, Rob Steele.

      This is Why FEF Video




Also available on YouTube - http://bit.ly/ThisIsWhyFEF